Maryland Drivers Education
Are you a first time Driver? Maryland State Law requires that all first time drivers take a Maryland drivers Ed course prior to applying for a driver license. Safety is more important than anything else, which is why the state of Maryland has put strict laws in place regarding drivers education. To prepare yourself to get your license, you should begin by do the following:
1: Download the appropriate study materials and practice tests
2: Enroll in a state-approved Drivers Ed course
3: Take the state Driver's exam
Drivers Education in Maryland
A Maryland drivers ed course will cover:
Thirty hours of classroom instruction with discussion on space management, basic maneuvering, reducing risks, operator performance, and collision avoidance, car control, and parallel parking. Each driver education class will include a 3-hour orientation and teach components of the Maryland's Graduated Driver Licensing Law. All students must attend the orientation class.
To work towards your learner’s permit you must:
- Be at least 15 years and 9 months
- Supply a birth certificate to the examiner
- Take an eye exam
- Show your ability to identify common road signs and pavement markings
- Get 80% on a written test
- Complete a school attendance certification form
- Hold the permit for nine months
This first step does not allow you to drive on your own.
Get a complete list on the steps you need to take to get your license, what to bring to the DMV, fees and even a practice test to assist you with getting your Maryland drivers license.
Step Two - Driver’s Education in Maryland
- Be age 16 years and 6 months and hold a learner’s permit for nine months from your education
- Show the certificate proving you competed your course (this can may be filed electronically by your instructor)
- Show your driving log which has been signed by a parent or guardian
- Pass a driving test
- You can only drive without supervision between 5 a.m. and midnight
- For the first five month no one can accompany you in the car that is under age 18. This doesn’t include family members
- If you get an infraction you’ll have to attend a Driver Improvement Program and start your provisional driving from the start
- You cannot use a cellphone
Once you complete your drivers education in Maryland, and you are at least 18 years old, you’ll be able to receive a full license.
Download the new Maryland Driver's Manual for help with passing your Maryland drivers ed course.
- You must have held your provisional license for a minimum of 18 months without any violations.
List of Certified Maryland drivers ed schools
Find out how to get your Maryland Learners Permit here.