How To Reinstate Your Suspended Maryland Drivers License
Do you need to reinstate your suspended Maryland drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn't have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.
Driving with a suspended Maryland drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We've collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Maryland license. Select from the options below to get started.
Application assistance services can simplify the process for many MVA related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to assistance in preparing official forms, the value added services and products you will receive include a comprehensive Easy Guide™ containing information relevant to your service needs; 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.
2: By mail
Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the MVA in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local MVA.
3: Via a MVA office
If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local MVA office. Varying MVA offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the MVA closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your MVA allows you to make a personal appointment.
Your license may be suspended for a variety of reasons. Some situations are clear, while others are subtle, with some drivers unaware that their license is suspended at all. In this guide, you'll find information on the steps necessary to reinstate your Maryland driver's license, no matter what your violation was.
Driving a vehicle when your license is suspended or revoked is a crime in Maryland. You may be fined or incarcerated if you are convicted.
Reinstating Your License
After your suspension period ends, you are entitled to reinstate your license. To apply for reinstatement, visit your local driver license office and pay the reinstatement fee.
If your license has been suspended due to a DUI charge, you may be given a license displaying an alcohol restriction on the license, much like someone who wears glasses has a restriction. These restrictions can last up to three years before you can apply to have it removed.
Reinstatement may vary depending on the offense committed, but they are usually around $45 for a non-DUI related suspension, and $75 for a DUI-related suspension.